Claire Carver-Dias, Carla MacLeod, Ted Bigelow and Blair McIntosh to be Inducted into the Canada Games Hall of Honour

Thursday, 29th June 2017

Athletes Claire Carver-Dias and Carla MacLeod, along with Builders Ted Bigelow and Blair McIntosh, are the 2017 class of inductees to be inducted into the Canada Games Hall of Honour at the 2017 Canada Summer Games in Winnipeg.

“This year’s class of inductees are each most deserving of their induction into the Canada Games Hall of Honour,” says Tom Quinn, Canada Games Council Chairman. “From Claire Carver-Dias’ heroics in the pool and her contributions to the Canada Games Movement through our Sport Committee to Blair McIntosh’s years of work shaping the Canada Games into what it is today, each inductee have their own unique story of how they are true champions of the Canada Games.”

Induction into the Canada Games Hall of Honour occurs every two years during each Canada Games.  The Hall of Honour recognizes, honours and celebrates exceptional Canada Games alumni who have distinguished themselves as athletes, coaches, officials or administrators, or persons who have made an outstanding contribution to the development and advancement of the Canada Games property.

Claire Carver-Dias, Olympic synchronize swimmer who competed for Team Ontario at the 1995 Canada Games, had this to say about her induction in the Hall of Honour.

“Canada Games was definitely the primary highlight of my early sporting life and a turning point moment for me. Its timing intersected with a moment in time when I had begun to believe that I could make a career in synchronized swimming... and I found myself competing at this incredible event, the flag of my ‘new’ province on my back (I was originally from Quebec but had moved to Ontario the year before the Games and was a part of the Ontario team), head-to-head with the best synchro swimmers of my age group, surrounded by world-class Canadian athletes from other sports. Canada Games fueled the passion for sport that was growing in me.”

Carla MacLeod, who participated at two Canada Games and used these experiences to propel her careers, attributes the Canada Games as having played a significant role in shaping her as a hockey player.

“At the 1995 Games my Olympic dream emerged. I left Grande Prairie and for the first time in my life I knew I wanted to play at the Olympics. I started practicing my autograph! In 1999, my teammates and I were able to capture the bronze medal after playing in triple overtime! The chance to stand on the podium provided me a glimpse into what it takes to win on a big stage. The Canada Games are part of the foundation that allowed me to live my dream.”

Ten years ago, in February of 2007, the inaugural induction into the Canada Games Hall of Honour took place at a ceremony in Whitehorse, Yukon as part of the 2007 Canada Winter Games. The induction celebrated former Canada Games Chairman Jack Pelech for his years of volunteer support and countless contributions. To date, there have been five classes inducted into the Hall of Honour in Games-years, making this year’s class the sixth 2007. Click here to see the entire list of past inductees.

“The Hall of Honour has become a Canada Games tradition where we can pay homage to the people who have given back so much to the Canada Games,” says Quinn. “We are thrilled to be adding these four esteemed individuals to an already prestigious list that includes Catriona Le May Doan, Roly McLenahan, Cassie Campbell, and former Canada Games Chairman Jack Pelech.

The induction ceremony will take place at Metropolitan Entertainment Centre on July 27th, 2017 as part of the celebrations for the 2017 Canada Summer Games in Winnipeg taking place from July 28th to August 13th.